We are delighted to welcome you to the Future wireless systems (6G) workshop that takes place at 1.00pm GMT on Monday 6 December 2021.

This hybrid workshop will bring together industry, academia, and policy makers to discuss the timely question of what approaches will be required to establish the UK as a leading player in future wireless systems (6G). Discussions will explore which approaches would successfully attract practical engagement, intellectual guidance, and resource investment from all constituents.

The workshop is held in partnership with the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), Ericsson and 6G Futures.

    All times are listed in GMT

    12.45pm         Online event opens

    1.00pm           Welcome address and opening keynote lectures

          • Professor Tariq S Durrani OBE FRSE FREng, Research Professor, Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University of Strathclyde
          • Dr Mischa Dohler FIEEE FREng FRSA, Chief Architect, Ericsson, Silicon Valley
          • Professor Sir Jim McDonald FREng FRSE, President, Royal Academy of Engineering
          • RT Hon Julia Lopez MP, Minister of State, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
          • Dr Mallik Tatipamula FCAE, CTO, Ericsson, Silicon Valley
          • Dr Erwin Gianchandani, Deputy Assistant Director, Computer and Information Science and Engineering, US National Science Foundation

    1.45pm           Session 1: Industry CTO panel

    Moderated by: Katherine Ainley, CEO, Ericsson UK and Ireland

          • Andrea Dona, Chief Network Officer, Vodafone Group
          • Howard Benn, Head of Standards and Industrial Affairs, Samsung Electronics R&D Institute
          • Dr Magnus Frodigh, Vice President and Head of Research, Ericsson
          • Dr Dinesh Verma FREng IEEE, IBM Fellow and Research CTO for Edge Computing, IBM

    2.30pm           Session 2: International research panel

    Moderated by: Ruth Kelman, Deputy Director for International, EPSRC

          • Dr Thyaga Nandagopal, Deputy Director, US National Science Foundation
          • Professor Matti Latva-aho, Professor of Communications Engineering, University of Oulu
          • Professor Tommy Svensson, Professor in the Communication systems research group, Chalmers University
          • Professor Gerhard Fettweis, Vodafone Chair Mobile Communications, TU Dresden
          • Professor Harald Haas FREng FRSE, Professor of Mobile Communications, University of Strathclyde

    3.45pm           Session 3: Standards Leaders Panel

    Moderated by: Dr Mike Short CBE FREng, Chief Scientific Advisor, Department of International Trade

          • Anita Dohler, CEO, Next Generation Mobile Networks
          • Luis J Romero, Director General, European Telecommunications Standards Institute
          • Professor Simon Saunders FREng, King’s College London and University of Bristol
          • Simon Hicks, Head of Technical Standards, Department for Digital, Culture, Mediaand Sport
          • Peter Haigh, Technical Director, National Cyber Security Centre

    4.30pm           Session 4: Summary discussion

    Moderated by: Professor Dame Muffy Calder DBE FREng FRSE, Vice Principal, University of Glasgow

          • Professor Tim Whitley, MD Applied Research and MD Adastral Park, BT Group
          • Professor Dame Wendy Hall DBE FRS FREng, Executive Director, Web Science Institute, University of Southampton
          • Professor Tom Rodden FREng, Chief Scientific Advisor, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
          • Professor Albert P Pisano, Dean, College of Engineering, University of California, San Diego
          • Professor Dame Lynn Gladden DBE FRS FREng, CEO, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council
          • Mike Biddle, Programme Director – Industrial Strategy Challenge Fund, Innovate UK

    5.25pm           Closing remarks

    Professor Dimitra Simeonidou FREng, Head of Bristol Digital Futures Institute, University of Bristol

    5.30pm          Close of event